BITS AND BOBS

A daily promise to yourself

Once upon a time, an ex boyfriend of mine tried to teach me the brilliant art of ‘list writing’. At the time, I was a free flying 20 something with far too many other things to do than sit and write lists. My life was all over the place and due to this, so was my head, heart and health. Now, older and wiser with responsibilities, routines to oblige to and structure to instill, I see what it is he loved so much about his funny little lists for I myself have become a faithful list lover! I’m not sure I could get through the day without writing stuff down. 

I am also an avid collector of notebooks. I cannot really explain to you what it is I love so much about them but, I cannot walk out of a stationary shop or gift shop without having purchased another however, I have a fabric covered swallow notebook that I have had for years and the years get clipped separated from each other and ONLY important stuff goes in that book. Our summer holiday this year is happening thanks to a phone number of a woman we met on holiday back in 2011 that this year is kindly renting out her apartment to us. See what good comes of writing stuff down!!!!!

Anyway, having flicked through the pages of all the previous years and the sweet little ‘to do’ lists that were scribbled among them, I had a sense of overwhelming pride of the accomplishment of so much stuff I had managed to succeed in that I hadn’t ticked off or cross referenced. Referring back to those lists and seeing for myself that I had wanted to achieve those goals and thanks to marking them down I had consciously put them out there to get ‘DONE’…and they had! and the ones that hadn’t, can now go on my today list, (*or tomorrow, or whenever….)

Learn to fish, learn Chinese, run a 10k, get the girls Baptized……prioritizing and list sorting can really make a huge impact in your life. It can organize and help to segregate your day in so many ways making it possible to incorporate simple health routines, organize your home, shopping to do’s, reading and studying lists and all your wish lists in between….what a joy a list can be!

If you’re wanting to find ways of incorporating a little bit more ‘you’ time into your day or learn to structure things a little better, may I suggest you go and purchase a scribble book, a new fancy pen and get creative with your daily promise list!

Here is mine for today…Just a small one but still:

photo

I’m guessing the ‘nap’ one may not get fulfilled but one can only wish!!!

I hope you all have as much fun as I do writing your lists..whatever your goals or wishes, give it a go! It really makes a huge difference and is a great thing to do for personal development and achievement!

Thanks for reading xxx

 

Leave a comment