Food ,drink and RECIPES!

Happy shrove Tuesday! Wheat free + Gluten free pancake recipes!!

It’s that exciting day of year where ,the day before you practise lent, you get to pig out on yummy pancakes in all their varieties and flavours! So, as my work see’s me giving advice and encouragement to so many people regarding health related issues and lifestyle, I figured I should listen to myself and this lent, I am giving up 2 things that I KNOW do not agree with me but I am too indulgent and unconcerned to do anything about it..Yes, Wheat + gluten! I have done this before, seen amazing results, felt a heap better and shell advice on the topic year round but still find myself sneaking bread and pasta where I know its bad! So 40 days without…here goes!

And just to prove it’s actually really not that hard, we’re going to start today with out truly yummy pancake mix! Hope you enjoy!

WHEAT + GLUTEN FREE PANCAKES!

 

dietary information:

wheat free yes
gluten free yes
nut free yes
dairy free no
vegetarian yes
vegan no

makes 5-8

100 g gluten free flour
1 tsp baking powder
15 g low-fat spread, margarine or butter
275 ml milk (buttermilk, cow, goat, almond, rice or soy)
1 large egg
pinch salt (optional)
1 firm banana, chopped fairly small
125 g blueberries, fresh or defrosted from frozen

 

 

1. Melt the low-fat spread, margarine or butter then whisk into it the egg and milk.
2. In a separate bowl mix the flour, baking powder and salt, then stir the milk mixture and mix until there are no dry ingredients visible, the mixture should be a bit lumpy so do not beat.
3. Stir in the banana. Leave the batter mix to stand in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
4. Heat a small omelette pan and very lightly oil, spoon enough batter into the pan to thinly cover the base, making sure you get an even spread of banana. Sprinkle some blueberries on top.
5. Cook the pancake for 2 – 3 minutes, the batter bubbles on the top of the pancake will start to break, then turn over for approximately 1 – 1½ minutes. Put on a plate and keep warm in a low temperature oven until they are all made.
6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all the mixture is used up. Sandwich each pancake in the oven with baking parchment so that they don’t stick together. Serve immediately.

Serve warm with whipped cream, greek yogurt, vanilla ice cream, maple syrup, Nutella or Green & Blacks Organic Chocolate Spread and more blueberries..or just simple lemon juice and sugar sprinkles which is what we shall be doing in about 15 minutes time! Enjoy everyone!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Happy shrove Tuesday! Wheat free + Gluten free pancake recipes!!

    • The notion of Shrove Tuesday is not out of the window as without that day, pancake day would be quite irrelevant..hence the title of this post..though they do may you happy!

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a comment