BITS AND BOBS

Clearing up a few things – Re- smoking

Yesterday I posted about quitting smoking and in order to really grasp the concept and give encouragement and truth about quitting being easy, I opened up and shared my personal story about how I achieved it. You see, giving up to me as someone that has sucessfully managed to quit, is something that I’m sure you can appreciate I am extremely proud of. When so many people talk about the battles and fall backs over and over again, the mere thought of quitting becomes too scary to contemplate, so I believed it would be refreshing to hear from the other side of the spectrum and give some optimistic, positive feedbacks surrounding the topic.

I have since recieved various emails and while I can’t address them all, there are a few I believe need a response. Firstly, one from unnamed in Derbyshire – Isn’t this a health website? Surely someone that used to smoke 20 a day can’t really qualify as a credible holistic practitioner? WOW, If only none of us had a past or experienced youth?First of all, can I qualify as a holistic practitioner? Only if I did the studies, which I have. For me to really be able to give a sound statement regarding how easy it is to give up smoking, it wouldn’t have had the same emphasis if I was someone that only smoked on weekends or only smoked when drinking. I smoked a lot, and that generaly makes it harder to quit… but I did, and with the quitting came a huge appreciation for a healthier lifestyle. A lifestyle I have always had (bar the youthful activities I endeavoured). The fact that I have experienced things first hand that are to be considered health challenges or re-evaluations of our lifestyles makes me VERY credible as I am aware of how and what may need changing. I’m sure everyone has a part of their past that could be made questionable to others, only I have chosen to share mine in order to help and had I not mentioned it, you would be none the wiser about my lifestyle, past or present. I can only say, I am VERY proud that I have been able to experience things the way I have and like I said in the article, I am a 100% or nothing type of person. In relation to my work, 100% dedication is applied in the healthiest, most optimistic and thoughtful way at all time, wether my past becomes apparent or not. I hope this helps?

From Dean in Chichester – Are you seriously saying that you went from one day to the next? I really want to give up but I can’t do it like that. I’ve tried. Any tips? – The fact you’re saying you want to give up is a huge indication that it shouldn’t be a hard process for you. Each time you light a cigarette, focus on the bad its doing to you. Trust me, if you really gross yourself out with the potential illness factors and life threatening possibilities, you’ll start putting that cigarette out closer to lighting it each time. Keep reminding yourself why you want to quit, and soon enough the negativity surrounding smoking will become something you won’t want to participate in. It may take a while but keep it up. Read all the tips on the bottom of the previous post and apply any of them also if it helps. NEVER smoke in the house. If you have to go outside to smoke, you may find you won’t want to. but really, each cigarette I lit was a serious reminder of how it could take my life. I couldn’t be friends with that. It should, if you think about it deeply enough be sufficient to change that. Get past the first week, and you won’t even think about it again! And don’t just fall out on the first craving. Power through and get the first few days over with and you’ll see its really not that hard. Hardest part for me was morings. I liked my coffee and cigarette and didn’t think I could enjoy a coffee without its smelly partner. You really can. Go take your coffee and read your emails or paper and distract yourself from the thought of smoking. Once the coffee’s finished and the mornings begun, the hard parts over!

From Rachel Hanning – unknown location – In the time you’ve given up have you never had a relapse or craved a cigarette if it was such a part of your previous lifestyle?  – Simply NO. If I go out with friends and they’re smoking(which indoors is pretty hard for anyone to do these days) the fact I know I can does enter my mind. But the fact I don’t is a more gratifying feeling and in the second that I say no to myself I really do feel proud and strong. Thats a better feeling than if I were to just lapse that one time and join them outside for a cheeky one. The thing is, once you quit, the more time goes on, the more smoke smells vile. The more I really don’t want to. I really like that clean feeling these days and no, I never get cravings. I remember when cigarettes used to run out and you were all out of money or couldn’t get to the bank (just for cigaretters – really sad) but you’d turn the house upside down looking for loose change and that feeling of wanting a cigarette would be your only thought until you finally got one. NEVER have those feelings in the slightest and thank god I don’t because looking back, that was appalling!

From Malin in greater Manchester – You sound like one of those proclaimed new non smokers that get on everyones nerves. I smoke and find it really irritating when people that have quit need to really make noise about how disgraceful smoking is. We used to be able to smoke in sections of indoor areas but now thanks to people like you, we have to stand outside like the diseased quater of society. Fair? – I understand what you mean about new non smokers being more hightened towards not smoking than those that have never smoked. When I smoked, my uncle used to drive me mad about smoking near him in restaurants or at home. He smoked for years and when he gave up he was a pain in everyones backsides about it. It used to make me want to smoke as close to him as possible just to wind him up. Malin, have you ever tried giving up? Do you want to or are you one of the smokers that enjoys smoking and has no intention of quitting? Because trust me, if you were ever to quit, the understanding and emphasis on how revolting smoking actually is is always going to be stronger to an Ex smoker than it would to someone that has never smoked because they have a massive distinction to compare it with. When you don’t smoke, having been a smoker, your senses really do heighten and to be in a shared space with someone that is smoking really and truly is awful. No judgement, do what you like but don’t do it in the air that everyone has to share, especially not indoors. The NHS spend 1.7 billion a year on smoke related illnesses. If your smoking causes someone that is stood close to you that doesn’t smoke to get sick, why should tax payers have to cover that cost? Surely by cutting back on the places in which you can freely blow your smoke is a more sensible, really quite simple little option that is saving lives and money, not to mention upgrading social environments for all to use. Can you really not get through the few hours you’re out in public without the need of smoking? In your own home do what you like, but consideration for others is surely a small price to pay? I was still a smoker when the smoking ban was enforced and I never had a problem with it at all. It actually makes total sense when you look at it without taking it personally or finding excuse to have a moan. I woulnd’t say its because of people like ME that the rules have been enforced. I would say it has more to do with our health and social systems and the fact that rules needed to be applied in order to cut down on the amount of damaging effects something as silly as smoking causes on everyone around them. Malin, if you ever do give up, trust me, you’ll know exactly what I’m taling about.

So, having applied some feedback regarding the topic, and phew, whata topic! It has made me even more a non smoker than I was yesterday! YUK! Anyone with any futher questions or queries please feel free to address them to me though please, I am very aware that it is a subject of debate where everyones opinions differ and no one is right or wrong so if anything that I have said here offends anyone, apologies and no intentions made.

Over and out!

Leave a comment